Faculty & Student Activities

Jump to....

Student Organizations and Awards

Faculty Publications & Awards

Student Organizations and Awards

Biology and Marine Science


Computing Science




Congratulations to Alyssa Girod for being awarded the Dr. Pam Crawford Endowed Scholarship! The scholarship recognizes a deserving undergraduate woman who is majoring in mathematics with preference given to a rising Junior or Senior.

Congratulations to members of the Software Engineering Class: Carolyn O’Neal, Jeremy Parker, Brittney Waldrop, Gabriel Nackashi, and faculty sponsor Dr. Zeng from Computing Science for winning the 2019 Community Impact Competition– College of Arts and Sciences. Their project is entitled 'Developing a Web-Based Youth Profiling System' for the nonprofit “Krumpin 4 Success.” Krumpin 4 Success, Inc. is an organization dedicated to decreasing risk-taking behaviors & youth recidivism through providing creative, artistic activities. For more information, click this link: Krumpin 4 Success.


Congratulations to Kelechi Akwataghibe, a senior Honors student double majoring in MATH and CS, on scoring positively on the December 2018 William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition (“the Putnam”).  This is the second year that Kelechi has scored positively on the Putnam.  He plans on attending graduate school in the Fall. The exam is sponsored by the Mathematical Association of America and is 'the leading university-level mathematics examination in the world.' The competition consists of two 3-hour sessions, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. During each session, participants work individually on 6 challenging mathematical problems. 

Biology major Jarvis Strickland was awarded best undergraduate research presentation for his work "Surveillance of Maryland white-tailed deer for vector-borne parasites” presented at the Southeastern Society of Parasitology conference!

Click on the picture to learn about the student-designed flow system for us in the Division of Science and Mathematics.




Division of Science & Mathematics Student of the Year– Kelechi Akwataghibe


Academic Excellence Award in Biology— Janel Clarisse Palomo and Maya Fisher
Outstanding Student of the Year in Biology— Jarvis Strickland and Kasey Williams


Chemistry Student of the Year— Ruth Adeyemi

Computing Science

Golightly Award in Computing Science (Outstanding Student)— Kelechi Akwataghibe


Student of the Year in Engineering— Patrick Taylor
Engineering Service Award— Johnny Villegas

Marine Science

Academic Excellence Award in Marine Science— Ashlyne Miller and Sean Wilms


Golightly Award in Mathematics (Outstanding Student)– Kelechi Akwataghibe


Physics Student of the Year– Courtney Purcell



Faculty Publications & Awards

2019 - 2020


Congratulations to Dr. Lane's (Physics) appointment to the American Association of Physics Teachers' Undergraduate Education Area Committee! This is an exciting opportunity to help shape physics education and represent JU on a national level.

JU Collaborate Grant, EPIC:

Dr. Zeng (Computing Science), Dr. Bamford and Dr. McGraw “Human Behavior Studies using Eye Tracker and EEG”

Equipment Grant, EPIC:

Dr. Zeng (Computing Science): "Human Computer Interaction labs and research based on eye tracker and EEG"

Dr. Ouellette and Dr. Penwell (Biology): "Enhancement of spectrophotometer capabilities"

Dr. Bielmyer-Fraser (Chemistry), Dr. Hausenblas (Kinesiology), and Dr. Ouellette (Chemistry & Biology and Marine Science): "Assessing Plant Growth and Development After Exposure to Natural Frequency Technology® and Contaminants"

Research, EPIC:

Dr. Stalker (Marine Science) and Dr. Ayodogan (Engineering): “Design and Testing of a Hydrokinetic Flume Tank" 

Dr. Franks (Marine Science) and Dr. Stephenson (Aviation): “OCEARCH Support with Unmanned Aircraft Systems”

Summer of Scholarship Grant:

Dr. Vanderhoff (Biology and Marine Science): "More Animals or More Spots: Dual Conservation Goals and Camera Angle"

Dr. Bielmyer-Fraser (Chemistry): "Microplastics in Marine Organisms"




Computing Science



2018 - 2019


Dr. Nancarrow (Mathematics) was awarded Jacksonville University Student Involvement “Outstanding Advisor of the Year." The award was based on his contributions to the Outing Club. Dr. Conway (Biology and Marine Science) was awarded the Tim Shakespeare Staff Award.





Biology/Marine Science: