The Department of French recognizes its outstanding students with awards at the annual Division of Humanities Award Picnic, held in April. Not all prizes are awarded each year.

Outstanding Senior in French

Awarded to a senior who has exemplified excellence in scholarship and service.

2020-2021: Alessandra Ravelo

2019-2020: Emilia Vicente Santana

2018-2019: Gabriela Lovera Hernandez

Academic Excellence in French and Francophone Studies

Awarded to an upper-level student who demonstrates excellence in French and/or Francophone Studies.

2020-2021: Armany LeBlanc

2019-2020: Halley Powell

2018-2019: Ana Carrasco Solla
                      Emilia Vicente Santana

2017-2018: Natalia Harley Cabada

Outstanding Undergraduate Essay in French

Awarded to a student who has completed a significant scholarly work on a topic in French or Francophone literature or culture and presented this work in an academic setting.

2019-2020: Emilia Vicente Santana

2018-2019: Not awarded

2017-2018: Gabriela Lovera Hernandez

Outstanding Achievement in French and Francophone Studies

Awarded to a student who has contributed to the program in an outstanding way or who has completed a significant project that does not fit into other categories.

2019-2020: Alexandria Kyriakidis, for her pedagogical project Business French for the DELF-Pro

2018-2019: Alexandria Kyriakidis, for her short film Mère

Judith E. Lyons Memorial Award for a Rising Major/Minor

This award is given in memory of Judith E. Lyons, a former French teacher at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School (Lexington, KY), whose legacy lives on at Jacksonville University. It is presented to an outstanding student in FREN202 who has declared a major or minor in French.

2020-2021: Joseph W. Brantley

2019-2020: Alessandra Ravelo

2018-2019: Halley Powell

2017-2018: Armany LeBlanc