Phi Sigma Iota

Phi Sigma Iota


Kappa Delta Chapter of Phi Sigma Iota is the World Language honorary at Jacksonville University.

Phi Sigma Iota recognizes outstanding accomplishment in the study or teaching of any of the academic fields related to world language, literature, or culture. These fields include not only modern world languages, but also Classics, Linguistics, Philology, Comparative Literature, Bilingual Education, Second Language Acquisition and other interdisciplinary programs with a significant foreign language component. Phi Sigma Iota is the highest academic honor in the field of foreign languages. There are approximately 180 chapters of Phi Sigma Iota at institutions of higher learning in the US and at American University in Paris, France.

Phi Sigma Iota promotes the principles of dedication, enthusiasm, and initiative at both the graduate and undergraduate level by encouraging leadership opportunities in Chapter development and scholarship awards. The importance of continuing linguistic development is emphasized in our programs, publications, member services, and community connections.

Phi Sigma Iota has initiated over 50,000 members since its founding in 1917, and provides

  • a national network of colleagues;
  • participation in a learning community to broaden horizons;
  • local and national leadership opportunities;
  • publication opportunities in the Society’s issues of The Forum;
  • scholarship opportunities.

For more information about Phi Sigma Iota, contact faculty advisor Dr. Tamara Bentley Caudill or visit

2023 Honorees

French: Max Casseday
Spanish: T'myia Scott

Membership since our recharter in 2019

Language of Study and Year of Induction

Amanda Bacallao (French & Spanish, '22), Kiara Blaylock (Spanish, '19), Joseph Brantley (French, '22), Audrey Corbitt (Spanish, '19), Raphael Cosme (Spanish, 21), Katie Fritsche (French, '22), Michele Giunti (Spanish, '21), Caroline Grant (Spanish, '21), Natalia Harley (French, '19), Logan Holmes (French & Spanish, '20), Madison Kratzer (Spanish, '21), Alexandria Kyriakidis (French, '19), Armany LeBlanc (French, '19), Gabriela Lovera (French, '19), Briana Mitchell (Spanish, '19), Sommer Marroquin (French & Spanish, '23), Halley Powell (French, '20), Alina Ramirez (Spanish, '21), Alessandra Ravelo (French, '21), Romaura Rojas Pena (Spanish, 19), Meghan Ross (Spanish, '21), Emilia Santana (French, '19)